Help Net Security
Chrome puts insecure sites behind a permission prompt
Google has rolled out a change to Chrome that asks users for permission before making an insecure HTTP connection. The protection is now enabled by default for all users, following its introduction earlier this year for users of Safe Browsing’s Enhanced Protection mode. The vast majority of connections made by Chrome use HTTPS, according to Google. However, unprotected HTTP traffic can expose users to malware, phishing, eavesdropping and other threats.
Sources
- Help Net Security · 21-Oct-2026