Get real-time updates on Telegram
CVE-2025-61661: grub2 0 through 2.14; +5 more affected products
CVE-2025-61661. CVSS 3.1 base score 4.8 (MEDIUM, Vendor/CNA). EPSS 0.00194 (percentile 0.08483), scored 17-Oct-2026.
Affected technology
grub2 · 0 through 2.14
GNU
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Component: Not specified by the source
Attack conditions (Vendor/CNA, CVSS 3.1): Physical access · No privileges required · No user interaction required
What an attacker can do
The source says this flaw occurs because the bootloader mishandles string conversion when reading information from a USB device, allowing an attacker to exploit inconsistent length values. Vendor/CNA’s CVSS 3.1 assessment (base score 4.8/10) rates confidentiality impact as none; integrity impact as low; availability impact as high.
- CWE
- CWE-131
- CCR priority
- 19.2 /100 (P5)
- CVSS 3.1
- 4.8 /10 · CVSS:3.1/AV:P/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:H · Vendor/CNA
- EPSS
- 0.00194 · percentile 0.08483 · 2026-10-17
- KEV
- no
Provenance
- NVD CVE API 2.0 · Source record · observed 2026-10-18 20:23:06.032219+00:00 UTC
Stable permalink: https://cybercodered.org/item/cve-cve-2025-61661.html