Get real-time updates on Telegram
CVE-2026-72694: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (exact versions not specified); +5 more affected products
CVE-2026-72694. CVSS 3.1 base score 7.1 (HIGH, Vendor/CNA). EPSS 0.00168 (percentile 0.05831), scored 21-Oct-2026.
Affected technology
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10.0 Extended Update Support · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 · Exact affected versions not specified by the source
Red Hat
Component: Not specified by the source
Attack conditions (Vendor/CNA, CVSS 3.1): Local · Low privileges required · No user interaction required
What an attacker can do
The source says when the MRTG daemon is started as a root user and subsequently drops privileges, a local, low-privileged attacker can exploit a symbolic link (symlink) following vulnerability. Vendor/CNA’s CVSS 3.1 assessment (base score 7.1/10) rates confidentiality and integrity impact as high; availability impact as none.
- CWE
- CWE-59
- CCR priority
- 28.4 /100 (P4)
- CVSS 3.1
- 7.1 /10 · CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N · Vendor/CNA
- EPSS
- 0.00168 · percentile 0.05831 · 2026-10-21
- KEV
- no
Provenance
- FIRST EPSS daily exploit-probability · Source record · observed 2026-10-22 01:10:55.718059+00:00 UTC
- GitHub Advisory Database · Source record · observed 2026-10-22 02:21:33.599910+00:00 UTC
- NVD CVE API 2.0 · Source record · observed 2026-10-22 01:08:24.561609+00:00 UTC
Stable permalink: https://cybercodered.org/item/cve-cve-2026-72694.html